Students Recognized During KDP Initiation Ceremony

KDP Initiation CeremonyFourteen students in the School of Education at the University of Arkansas – Fort Smith have been inducted into the Alpha Beta Omega chapter of Kappa Delta Pi International Honor Society in Education during an initiation ceremony that also recognized senior members of the society with outstanding academic performance.


Seniors maintaining a 3.5 grade point average throughout their university careers were presented cords to wear during commencement exercises.  


Inductees and senior members receiving cords were:


Charleston: Tina Hurt, presented a cord.


Fort Smith: Sara Childress and Allison Hart, new members; Laurie Burnett, Danielle Nichols, Jennifer Sanchez, and Morgan Saxton, presented cords; and Amanda Cassat and Jessica Hall, new members and presented cords.


Greenwood: Ashley Woodey, new member.


Hackett: Corie Williams, new member.


Hartford: Lauren Hearron, new member and presented a cord.


Mena: Katelyn Staggs, new member.


Mulberry: Caitlin James, presented a cord.


Muldrow, Okla.: Lyndie Martin, new member and presented a cord.


Panama, Okla.: Sierra Whiteaker, new member.


Poteau, Okla.: Robyn Gutierrez, new member and presented a cord.


Spiro, Okla.: Nadia Claborn, new member.


Van Buren: Jessica Lemus, new member.


Waldron: Shane Hale, new member.


Wister, Okla.: Amber Bethell, presented a cord.


This year's officers include Tracie McCarver of Chester, president; Ruby Roden of Fort Smith, vice president; Morgan Saxton of Fort Smith, secretary; Danielle Nichols of Fort Smith, treasurer; Tina Hurt of Charleston, historian. Co-counselors of the organization are Dr. Deebe Milford of Alma and Ginger Osburn of Sallisaw, Okla.


Kappa Delta Pi was founded in 1911 to foster excellence in education. UAFS's chapter was installed in 2005.


Article by John Post, Director of Public Information
Date Posted: 
Tuesday, September 22, 2015
Source URL:
Story ID: