UAFS Students Win College of STEM Awards

STEM Award studentsTwenty-four University of Arkansas – Fort Smith students from the College of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics and the School of Education received outstanding student awards during a ceremony.


The ceremony is held every spring to celebrate exemplary scholarship and service and to recognize outstanding students for their hard work and leadership in the classroom, research laboratory, and in the extracurricular arena. Greg Shipley, president of Morrison-Shipley Engineers, served as the guest speaker for the ceremony.


Award recipients include:


Conway: Kaylee Ashley, Service to Math Department Award.


Cove: Christa Super, Chrysalis Award.


Fort Smith: Hannah Jenkins, Chemistry – Horizon Award; Sokear Manithong, Database Award; Danielle Perito Nichols, Early Childhood Education Outstanding Intern Award; Giau Pham, Biology Service Award; Steve Roberts, Biology Academic Excellence Award; David Vest, Computer and Information Sciences Programming Award.


Greenwood: Michael Conrow, Computer and Information Technology Networking Award; Chandler Pendleton, Organic Chemistry Award.


Hackett: Corie Williams, Middle Level Education Math and Science Award.


Joplin, Mo.: Naveen Sharma, Computer and Information Technology Networking Award.


Lavaca: Daniel Young, Chemistry Research Award.


Lyons Falls, N.Y.: Kraig Kiepprein, Mechanical Engineering Freshman of the Year Award.


Mena: Katelyn Staggs, Mathematics Research Award.


Monterrey, Mexico: Jose Perez, Middle Level Education Language Arts and Social Studies Award.


Muldrow, Okla.: Kirsten Irwin, Biochemistry Award.


Roland, Okla.: Brandon Dyer, Electrical Engineering Sophomore of the Year Award.


Van Buren: Damian Cabrera, Computer and Information Sciences Outstanding Student Award; Miranda Croslin, Pedagogy Award; Daniel Hinkle, Electrical Engineering Freshman of the Year Award; John Mills, Mechanical Engineering Sophomore of the Year Award; Kaleb Porter, Calculus Award.


Winslow: Richard Sample, Biology Research Award.


Amy Fairbanks, University Relations Coordinator
Date Posted: 
Thursday, April 21, 2016
Source URL:
Story ID: