WATC Students Recognized at Ceremony

Students attending the Western Arkansas Technical Center at the University of Arkansas - Fort Smith have been recognized for superior achievement in a special awards ceremony, which included the announcement of Outstanding WATC Students, Starfish Awards, Director’s Honor Roll and SkillsUSA Gold Star Members.


Outstanding WATC Students


Outstanding WATC Students included students attending classes on the UAFS campus as well as students from the programs offered by WATC in a satellite center located on the Waldron High School campus.


Recipients were:


Alma: Daniel Clark, Alma High School.


Fort Smith: Miguel Chavez, Northside High School; Jasmine Joseph, Northside High School; Christ Somphounout, Northside High School; and Jerrica Turner, Northside High School.


Greenwood: Brady Wilkinson, Greenwood High School; and Rachel Wagoner, Mansfield High School.


Lavaca: Joseph Melton, Lavaca High School; and Danielle Sewell, Charleston High School.


Mansfield: Karolyn Manas, Mansfield High School.


Mulberry: Tanner Wilkins, Alma High School.


Van Buren: Zane Harrison, Van Buren High School.


To be nominated for outstanding student awards, students must have a minimum of 3.00 cumulative grade point average at UAFS, have completed a minimum of one semester, be currently enrolled in the program for which the award is given, be eligible to walk in their high school graduation for the current year, be in good standing with the WATC program and have demonstrated honesty, integrity and a strong work ethic.


Along with a plaque, outstanding WATC students received a $500 book scholarship to continue their education at UAFS.


WATC Starfish Awards


WATC Starfish Awards were presented to students who exceeded expectations, exuded passion for the WATC program and helping peers succeed, and demonstrated exemplary leadership skills. A $500 book scholarship to UAFS was also presented to each winner.


Recipients were:


Mulberry: Parker Work, Alma High School.


WATC Director's Honor Roll


WATC Director's Honor Roll Awards were presented to 100 students who exhibited outstanding academic achievement with a cumulative grade point average higher than 3.75 while attending WATC classes.


Recipients were:


Alma: Zachary Banks, Alma High School; Zhein Chipp, Alma High School; Rachel Churchill, Mountainburg High School; Ryder Cline, Alma High School; Haley Gilstrap, Alma High School; Gloria Nichols, Alma High School; Allison Rogers, Alma High School; Joslyn Scruggs, Alma High School; and Brooke Short, Alma High School.  


Barling: Julie Zuspann, Van Buren High School.


Booneville: Sabrina Alfaro, Booneville High School; and Jesse Scott, Booneville High School.


Cedarville: Bethany Bartlett, Cedarville High School.


Charleston: Caleb Harris, Charleston High School; and Jonathon Singleton, Charleston High School.


Fort Smith: Adolfo Amador, Northside High School; Nijayiah Baldwin, Northside High School; Madeline Burgin, Southside High School; Zachary Cagle, Southside High School; Erica Cervantes, Southside High School; Miguel Chavez, Northside High School; Christina Chiamsachang, Northside High School; Kiera Clark, Southside High School; Tyler Cropsey, Southside High School; Javaughn Ellingberg, Northside High School; Hector Figueroa, Northside High School; Lindsey Franklin, Southside High School; Timothy Fry, Southside High School; Erica Guzman, Northside High School; Desiree Jackson, Northside High School; Emily Johnston, Southside High School; Jasmine Joseph, Northside High School; Rachael Keomany, Northside High School; Christopher Keuthirath, Northside High School; Gunner Labyer, Southside High School; Jasmine Lira, Northside High School; Guadalupe Martinez, Northside High School; Carlos Mendez, Northside High School; Jackson Pham, Northside High School, Kevin Phommaha, Northside High School; Michael Railey, Southside High School; Aleah Reves, Northside High School; Jennifer Reyes, Southside High School; Cassie Reynolds, Northside High School; Lane Rodgers, Southside High School; Briley Rosamond, Southside High School; James Sangster, Northside High School; Destiny Schiemann, Southside High School; Christ Somphounout, Northside High School..


Greenwood: Hannah Brownfield, Greenwood High School; Madison Byrd, Hackett High School; Madison Franks, Greenwood High School; Kasey Green, Greenwood High School; Kristen Keene, Greenwood High School; Sierra Meskill, Greenwood High School; Rachel Wagoner, Mansfield High School; Callie Williams, Greenwood High School; and Ryan Willis, Greenwood High School.


Hackett: Stacy Spalding, Hackett High School.


Huntington: Kara Chronister, Mansfield High School; Shariesa Feimster, Mansfield High School; Eden Jones, Mansfield High School; and Summer Potocki, Greenwood High School.


Lavaca: Joseph Melton, Lavaca High School; Danielle Sewell, Charleston High School; and Shayla Smithson, Lavaca High School.


Magazine: Schylar Britten, J.D. Leftwich High School; Karliegh DuBroc, J.D. Leftwich High School; and Katylin Gillaspy, J.D. Leftwich High School.


Mansfield: David Chavez, Mansfield High School; Karolyn Manas, Mansfield High School; July Parish, Mansfield High School; and Bailey Walker, Mansfield High School.


Mulberry: Dawson Graham, Alma High School; Kyla Murders, Alma High School; Tanner Wilkins, Alma High School; and Parker Work, Alma High School.


Paris: Smart Vang, County Line High School.


Van Buren: Dylan Bliss, Van Buren High School; Raven Clark, Van Buren High School; Beth Duquette, Van Buren High School; Kaitlyn Finch, Van Buren High School; Alexa Franklin-Benac, Van Buren High School;; Parker Harp, Van Buren High School; Joseph Harwood, Van Buren High School; Erica Hester, Van Buren High School; Samantha Hester, Van Buren High School; Cassidy Howard, Van Buren High School; Megan Irons, Van Buren High School; Angel Knotts, Van Buren High School; Gloria Martinez, Van Buren High School; Macy McGill, Van Buren High School; Mikaela Moore, Van Buren High School; Kyler Putman, Van Buren High School; Haley Rains, Van Buren High School; Dave Riddle, Van Buren High School; Andrew Rogers, Van Buren High School; Kaila Shockley, Van Buren High SchoolMarissa Stevens, Southside High School; Rebekah Trumble, Van Buren High School; Ryan Waldrop, Alma High School; and Dessie Wilson, Van Buren High School.


SkillsUSA Gold Star Members


SkillsUSA Gold Star Members are students who earned more than 25 participation points throughout the school year. Students collect point by attending SkillsUSA functions and volunteering in the community. These students earned a $300 book scholarship to UAFS.


Recipients were:


Fort Smith: Madeline Burgin, Southside High School; Debbie Robertson, Booneville High School; and Larry Saengchan, Northside High School.


Paris: Smart Vang, County Line High School.


Van Buren: Joseph Harwood, Van Buren High School.


The Western Arkansas Technical Center at UAFS is an area secondary center serving a five-county area. WATC provides area high school juniors and seniors an opportunity to earn college credits in automotive technology, computer graphic technology, criminal justice, early childhood education, electronics technology, engineering, graphic design, health sciences, information technology and welding technology.


John Post, Director of Public Information
Date Posted: 
Monday, May 16, 2016
Source URL: 
Story ID: