Resident Assistants Selected at UAFS for 2016-2017

Resident AssistantsEleven new resident assistants will join the 11 returning RAs and the rest of the housing team at the University of Arkansas – Fort Smith for the 2016-2017 academic year.


“Selected from a highly competitive applicant pool, the resident assistants are leaders who have a desire to build a community for all students living on campus,” said Beth Eppinger, director of housing and residential life. “Through educational programming, intentional conversations, and being role models, the RAs connect residents to the UAFS mission.”


New RAs include:


Broken Arrow Okla.: Savannah Page.


Fort Smith: AJ Popa.


Greenwood: Sara Earnhart.


Hot Springs: Kelsey Holmes, Austin Merriott and Samantha Strain.


Lamar: Steven Stone.


Mansfield: Andrew Peterson.


Pearland, Texas: Austin Lloyd.


Van Buren: Joel Kirkland.


Waldron: Kayla Horn.


Returning RAs who will serve in the Lion’s Den are Kaden Avery of Spiro, Okla; Travis Christensen of Edmond, Okla.; Kayley Corley of Booneville; Shelby Cox of Harrison; Natalie Flippo of Pea Ridge; Darci Hays of West Fork; and Mason Rhodes of Russellville.


Returning RAs for the Sebastian Commons are Heath Slamons of Elkins; Nicole Hutcheson of Elkins; Mari Odake of Osaka, Japan; and Cecily Redman of Forney, Texas.


To become a resident assistant, students must attend an information session in February, complete an application packet, go through a group interview process and a background check, and participate in individual interviews.


Amy Fairbanks, University Relations Coordinator
Date Posted: 
Tuesday, September 13, 2016
Source URL:
Story ID: