UAFS Connects Students with Mentors

Thirty-five University of Arkansas – Fort Smith students were matched with a community leader or business executive and UAFS young alumni for the third year of the UAFS Alumni Association’s Mentors Connections program.


The Mentor Connections program allows students to be mentored by a successful community business professional and recently-graduated alumni in the student’s field of study. The groups meet once per month and discuss both personal and professional topics. The program’s goal is for the students to build confidence, gain knowledge, and build connections that will help them succeed in their chosen career field.


Students, young alumni, and executive mentors are:


  • Carla Acosta of Clarksville, international business major; Amy Snell, ABF Logistics; and Col. Bobbi Doorenbos, 188th Wing.


  • Tyler Armstrong of Fort Smith, business administration and marketing major; Colton Clark, Ameriprise Financial Services; and Jim Walcott, Weldon, Williams & Lick.


  • Matt Callaway of Fort Smith, media communication major; Jacob Embry, Beall Barclay and Jo Ellen Carson, State of Arkansas.


  • Allison Cross of Fort Smith, accounting major; Scott Whittenberg, Brown Hiller Clark; and Carl Norris, Methodist Village.


  • Kassandra Crowder of Siloam Springs, business administration major; Zack Werley, MidSouth Financial Services; and Sandy Dixon, Turn Key Construction.


  • Jordan Curtis of Van Buren, marketing major; Kane Whitt, CSK Hotel; and Sue Plattner Smith, Merrill Lynch.


  • Hunter Delarm of Fort Smith, business administration major; Williams Ricks, First National Bank; and Tim Bailey, Candy Craze.


  • Pollet Delgado of Van Buren, accounting and finance major; Claudia Catlett, Mitchell Catlett Solutions; and Sam Sicard, First National Bank.


  • Kayla Dutton of Muldrow, Okla., international business major; Patrick Charlton, Riverside Furniture; and Fred Williams, Williams/Crawford & Associates.


  • Kaitlyn Freeman of Clarksville, organizational leadership major; Daniel Hobbs, First National Bank; and Mark Rumsey, Zero Mountain.


  • Andrew Haught of ­­­Siloam Springs, finance major; Amanda Coffman, Williams/Crawford & Associates; and Ivy Owen, Fort Chaffee Redevelopment Authority.


  • Serena Her of Altus, international business major; Jordan Hale, University of Arkansas – Fort Smith; and Lap Bui, Baldor Electric Co.


  • Jacob Hollomon of Fort Smith, finance major; Amy Douglas, OK Foods; and Kenneth Siebenmorgen, Ameriprise Financial.


  • Max Kangwarnpom Fort Smith, international business major; Dallas Kuper, Covenant Presbyterian Church; and Philip Merry, First Western Insurance.


  • Sean Laney of Fort Smith, accounting major; Sunshine Barlett, Golden Living; and Rodney Shepard, Arvest Bank.


  • Raneisha Lewis of Fort Smith, marketing major; Ethan Adamson, First Financial Mortgage; and Erin Gattis, ArcBest Corporation.


  • David Licari of Fort Smith, business administration major; Denae Beliles, ArcBest Corporation; and Ryan King, Guardian Payment Systems.


  • Matthew Luce of Heavener, Okla., finance major; Eric Smithson, ABF Logistics; and Rebbeca Hurst, Smith & Hurst.


  • Dana McKinney of Fort Smith, accounting major; Katie Knight, ArcBest Corporation; and Barbara Bethell, First National Bank.


  • Thomas Miller of Ratcliff, marketing major; Grace Lowe, ArcBest Corporation; and Bill Hanna, Hanna Oil & Gas.


  • Lara Millican of Hindsville, marketing major; Katie Kidwell, Glaxo Smith Kline; and Sara Adams, Brick City.


  • Luis Muniz of Mena, international business; Casey Millspaugh, UPS; and Sam Fiori, KMAC Enterprises.


  • Nigel Otero of Fort Smith, marketing major; Brandon Parker, Carrot Dirt Organics; and Robert Halliburton, Centennial Bank.


  • Remington Pate of Greenwood, business administration major; Lindsey Robinson, ArcBest Corporation; and Steve Clark, ProPak Logistics.


  • Daniel Romo of Lavaca, business administration and finance major; Kalie Ferguson, ArcBest Corporation; and Norman Wilkinson, Farmers Bank.


  • R. C. Sims of Mena, accounting major; Lacie Stowe, Citizens Bank & Trust; and Rebecca Flack, Cooper Clinic.


  • Albert Spanel of Fort Smith, business administration major; Jeremy May, ArcBest Corporation; and Bennie Westphal, Ozark Oil & Gas.


  • Aaron Toth of Fort Smith, accounting major; Brad Andrews, Weldon, Williams & Lick; and David Cravens, Regions Bank.


  • Benjamin Troung of Fort Smith, finance major; Hayden Przybysz, Przybysz & Associates CPAs; and Russ Bragg, OK Foods.



  • Daniel Tu of Fort Smith, accounting major; Chris Cluck Beall Barclay; and Melissa Curry, Methodist Village.


  • Zachary Vann of Alma, finance major; Eaven Ward, Ward Brothers Roofing; and David Craig, October Wealth Management.


  • Linda Vichith of Fort Smith, international business; Rikki Hobbs, Shared Services of Fort Smith; and Jody Weiche-LaFleur, Spradco Incorporated.


  • Nina Vu of Fort Smith, business administration major; Keith Lux, Ameriprise Financial; and Mat Pitsch, Western Arkansas Regional Intermodal Transportation Authority.


  • Chelsea Williams of Poteau, Okla., accounting major; Matt Przybysz, Przybysz & Associates CPAs; and Amy Johnson, Rheem Manufacturing.


  • Sally Williams of Fort Smith, accounting and finance major; Mitch Minnick, Fort Smith Housing Authority; and Jim Fourmy, First National Bank.


For more information on the Mentors Connection program or how to become involved, contact Rick Goins, alumni director, at 479-788-7026 or


About the University of Arkansas - Fort Smith

The University of Arkansas – Fort Smith is the premiere regional institution of Western Arkansas, connecting education with careers and serving as a driver of economic development and quality of place in the greater Fort Smith region. Through a small campus, dedicated professors, and the university’s unique bond with its community, students at UAFS are able to do more in the areas they are passionate about, both on- and off-campus, in a way that prepares them for post-graduate success. To find out how you can do more at UAFS, visit


Amy Fairbanks, University Relations Coordinator
Date Posted: 
Wednesday, October 5, 2016
Source URL:
Story ID: