UAFS Students & Staff Win ADDYs

University of Arkansas - Fort Smith employees and students brought home 47 awards during the 2013 ADDY Awards, presented by the American Advertising Federation - Fort Smith chapter.


Award winners included UAFS employees Carl Hulsey, Laura Wattles, Jessica Martin and Champ Williams, all of Fort Smith; Peter Cullum of Sallisaw; and Colin McLain of Van Buren.


Hulsey won a gold award for the design of the Season of Entertainment brochure. Wattles’ award, a gold, was for the design of the UAFS Traditions Book. Both are graphic designers in the Marketing and Communications Office.


A silver award went to Martin and Williams for the UAFS Numa commercials. Martin is the marketing coordinator in Marketing and Communications, and Williams is a multi-media production specialist for the Campus and Community Events Office. A bronze award went to Cullum for design of the UAFS Viewbook. Cullum is the senior graphic designer in Marketing and Communications.


McLain, an assistant professor of graphic design, received the first-ever Outstanding Educator Award, given for his contribution to the Fort Smith advertising industry by being involved in the start of the graphic design program at UAFS. Travis Brown of Fort Smith, assistant professor of graphic design, said that local printers, advertising agencies and publications have benefited from the program McLain created on campus.


“Our graphic design alumni currently hold design and production positions at most major ad agencies, and a majority of the corporate design departments in the area have, or have had, employed UAFS graduates,” said Brown.


“We’re really beginning to see results from the improvements we’ve made to our four-year degree,” Brown added. “The students we’re graduating this year are truly an outstanding group. And the junior class behind them is proving to be equally capable. All the professors in the Department of Art are honored to have these students represent us, our students and UAFS as well.”


In the ADDY competition, UAFS students won Special Judges Awards, several professional ADDYS and a number of ADDYs in the student categories.


“Our students scored big. Really big,” said Brown. “All three Special Judges Awards were awarded to students. Those judges chose their favorite pieces in the competition for the Special Judges Awards, and it is quite flattering for students to receive all three.”


Special Judges Awards went to Jeremy Teff of Alma, for his American Proud Poster Series; Becky English of Mountain Home, for her Rotary Perfecting Press Infographic; and June Pham of Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam, for her Edward Scissorhands Title Sequence animated piece, available to view at


“Kelby Franklin took the most prestigious student award,” Brown said, “the Best of Show Student for her MADD Advertising Campaign. The judges agreed that her ad campaign would have been a contender for the Best of Show Print professional category as well.”


Brown was pleased with the showing of UAFS students in the competition.


“Not only did our students take home an impressive list of student awards, three of our students won gold, silver and bronze in professional categories,” said Brown.


  • Professional ADDYs earned by students included:


Mountain Home: Zane Kaiser, graphic designer for What If Creative, a gold for Brick City Emporium logo and a silver for a campaign for Regional Economic Development Alliance.


Van Buren: Jessica Wooden, graphic designer for Physician Improvements Consulting logo for Trilennium Financial, a bronze award.


  • Student ADDYs included:


Alma: Steven Barker; gold for The Wizard of Oz Ballet Poster, gold for Newsboys Gig Poster, and silver for World’s Heaviest Door; Jeremy Teff, gold award for Ardent Cycles Promotional Packaging, gold and Special Judges Award for American Proud Poster Series, silver for Linotype Infographic, and bronze for Salvation Army Direct Mail Post Card.


Fort Smith: Danaye Amon, bronze for NW Industrial Machine & Tool Expo; Brooke Cagle, bronze for Bodoni Would Make an Admirable Letter for a Death Notice; Kevin Ledford, silver for Evil Reflection Stop Motion, bronze for Warrior Wasp, bronze for Boondock Saints TV Title Sequence; Raechel Martin, silver for Annie Get Your Gun Poster, bronze for Playing Card - Self Portrait; Caryn Price, silver for Dyslexia Awareness, silver for Gig Poster; Maegan Riley, silver for Finger Mountain Breakdown Poster; Lance Scruggs, bronze for Brawley Alleycats; Stanley S. Soultaire, bronze for Head and the Heart.


Hannover, Germany: Melina von Hacht, silver for Beale Street Music Festival Event Commercial.


Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam: June Pham, gold for Ad Council Campaign, gold and Special Judges Award for Edward Scissorhands Title Sequence and silver for Lighting of the Square Announcement.


Mansfield: Kelby Franklin, Student Best of Show and gold award for Madd Campaign and silver for Book Cover Suite.


Mountain Home: Becky English, bronze for Silence Hate Poster, silver and Special Judges Award for Rotary Perfecting Press-Infographic; and Zane Kaiser, gold for Chippewa Chicks.


Van Buren: Heather Swaim, silver for Gig Poster and silver for Children’s Book Series; and Jessica Wooden, gold for No Word Billboard Ad for Adidas Deodorant, silver for John Mayer Gig Poster, silver for Interactive Magazine Ad for Earthgrains Bread, bronze for Sex Trafficking Awareness Ad, and bronze for Unlikely Mascot Logo.


The ADDY Awards are the advertising industry’s annual awards ceremony to recognize excellence in advertising. Entries are based on creativity, originality and creative strategy. The AAF-Fort Smith chapter is part of District 10 of the national American Advertising Federation.

Date Posted: 
Wednesday, February 13, 2013
News Teaser: 
University of Arkansas - Fort Smith employees and students brought home 47 awards during the 2013 ADDY Awards, presented by the American Advertising Federation - Fort Smith chapter.