Clarinetist Joins UAFS Jazz Groups for April 14 Concert

Eddie Daniels

The Jazz Band and Jazz Catz at the University of Arkansas - Fort Smith will perform a concert at 7:30 p.m. April 14 as part of the university’s Season of Entertainment 34, highlighted by a guest performer known as “one of the greatest clarinetists in modern times.”


Eddie Daniels will perform in tandem with the jazz groups for the concert, which takes place at the ArcBest Performing Arts Center, located at 55 S. 7th St. The performance features musical numbers including “My Favorite Things” from “The Sound of Music,” “The Way You Look Tonight” by Frank Sinatra, “Bohemian Rhapsody” by Queen, “Quietude” by Thad Jones and “Thad Said No” by Gordon Goodwin.


The Jazz Band and Jazz Catz will perform for the first half of the show, and Daniels will play the second half before the groups come together to perform Benny Goodman’s iconic hit “Sing, Sing, Sing.”


Daniels has performed as a musician for more than 60 years, and two of his albums -- “Breakthrough” and “To Bird With Love” -- earned Grammy nominations, with a third album titled “Memos from Paradise” winning a Grammy in 1989.


Jazz Catz Director Don Bailey praised Daniels as “one of the greatest clarinetists in modern times.”


“The Jazz Band and Jazz Catz are excited to have the opportunity to perform with a world-class musician like Eddie Daniels,” Bailey said. “Concertgoers will have the opportunity to see a current-day Benny Goodman in action, and I hope they take advantage of it.”


Students who will perform are:


Alma: Jordan Duff, Micheal Phan and Kyle Scott.


Booneville: Kyle Jones.


Cedarville: Davy Klement.


Conway: Mikayla Parker.


Fort Smith: Spencer Barker, Elizabeth Carter, Sawyer Crenshaw, Will Davis, Jaivin Glover, Christopher Ha, Ben Hines, Abby Hobbs, Christian Jones, Christopher Jones, Larry Nguyen and Tyler Weaver.


Greenwood: Lucas Alexander, Dakota Archer and Andrew Morgan.


Mena: Harmony Chapin and Amber Lane.


Mulberry: Virginia Jones.


Muldrow, Okla.: Aleyah Youngblood.


Omaha: Deborah Ellis.


Sallisaw, Okla.: Matthew Eggert.


Van Buren: Caleb Capps, Kennon Doss, Aspen Knight and Kalyn Tounzen.


The concert is part of Season of Entertainment 34, a year-long lineup of entertainment sponsored by the University of Arkansas - Fort Smith featuring a variety of plays, musicals and symphonic performances. 


Tickets for the show are $8. To purchase tickets, call the UAFS Box Office at 479-788-7300 or visit


Article by John Post, Director of Public Information
Date Posted: 
Thursday, March 19, 2015
Source URL: