Twenty-Four UAFS Students Recognized by KDP

KDPUniversity of Arkansas - Fort Smith students were inducted into the Alpha Beta Omega chapter of the Kappa Delta Pi International Honor Society in Education during the organization’s initiation ceremony, with seniors also being corded during the event.


Senior members who achieved a 3.5 grade point average or higher throughout their academic career at UAFS were given cords to wear at commencement exercises.


Inductees and seniors being corded were:


Booneville: Emalee Austin and Rebekah Tanner, presented cords.


Cabot: Madelin Strickland, new member and presented cord.


Cedarville: Angela Stout, presented cord.


Chester: Michaela Shaw, presented cord.


Fort Smith: Danielle Perito, Morgan Saxton, Brianne Smith, Maggie Weeks, new members; Laura Been, Hannah Brain, Sarah Foster, Jennifer Jones, David Orick, Jill Siebenmorgen, presented cords; Carlos Ceron-Sanabria and Kerbi Key, new members and presented cords.


Greenwood: Lorene Russell, presented cord.


Harrison: Caitlyn Spencer, new member.


Lavaca: Darion Bond, presented cord.


Magazine: Katie Hammonds, presented cord.


Mountainburg: Courtney Wasko, new member and presented cord.


Van Buren: Amanda Beck, Christina Cox and Sarah Koch, presented cords.


Winslow: Kathryn Biswell, new member.


Students must maintain a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher to be selected for membership into Kappa Delta Pi, in addition to earning 30 credit hours by the end of the semester precluding initiation. Students must also have completed at least 12 hours of professional education courses.


Faculty advisors are Dr. Lois Yocum of Fort Smith and Dr. Deebe Milford of Alma. Dr. Karen Endel, principal of Butterfield Trail Middle School in Van Buren, also spoke at the ceremony.


Article by John Post, Director of Public Information
Photo Credits: 
Photos by Rachel Putman, Photographer, Marketing and Communications Office
Date Posted: 
Thursday, April 2, 2015
Source URL: