Kappa Delta Pi Initiates New Members and Presents Graduation Cords

kdp initiates
New initiates are (left to right, back row) Dr. Ernest Barnett, Emily Haley, Dr. Cheryl Lehman, Kristen Mootry, Christopher Welch, Ryan Wynne, Savannah Shores, Mallori Youngman, (front row) Angela J. Navarro Castillo, Ana Carla Cruz and Madeline Rose.

Fourteen students and two faculty members in the School of Education at the University of Arkansas - Fort Smith have been inducted into the Alpha Beta Omega chapter of Kappa Delta Pi International Honor Society in Education during an initiation ceremony that also recognized senior members of the society. Five members were also presented graduation cords.


The audience enjoyed keynote speaker, Dr. Monica Riley, interim executive director of the School of Education.


Students recognized during the ceremony were:


Alma: Ryan Wynne, new member.


Arkoma, Okla.: Caroline Fimpel, presented a graduation cord; Misty D. Moore, new member.


Barling: Lexie Chamberlain, presented a graduation cord.  


Bella Vista: Kimberly Carter, presented a graduation cord.


Booneville: Ashlee Stumpf, presented a graduation cord.  


kdp initiates
Graduating seniors (left to right) are Angela J. Navarro Castillo, Natasha Elmore, Ashlee Stumpf, Lexie Chamberlain and Caroline Fimpel.

Conway: Christina Early, new member.


Fort Smith: Angela J. Navarro Castillo, new member and presented a graduation cord; Dr. Ernest Barnett, faculty and new member; Carrie Jo Mize, new member; and Christopher Welch, new member.


Hackett: Natasha Elmore, presented a graduation cord.


Inola, Okla.: Kristen Mootry, new member.


Lavaca: Michelle D. Werschem, new member.


Malvern: Mallori Youngman, new member.


Mansfield: Madeline Rose, new member.


Van Buren: Thomas Ceola, new member; Ana Carla Cruz, new member; Emily Haley, new member; Dr. Cheryl Lehman, faculty and new member; and Savannah Shores, new member.


This year's officers include Jennifer Hosley of Greenwood, president; Megan McGee of Lavaca, vice president; Caroline Fimpel of Arkoma, OK, secretary; Natasha Elmore of Hackett, treasurer; and Leslie Bremner of Lavaca, historian and publicist.


About the University of Arkansas - Fort Smith

The University of Arkansas – Fort Smith is the premiere regional institution of Western Arkansas, connecting education with careers and serving as a driver of economic development and quality of place in the greater Fort Smith region. Through a small campus, dedicated professors, and the university’s unique bond with its community, students at UAFS are able to do more in the areas they are passionate about, both on- and off-campus, in a way that prepares them for post-graduate success. To find out how you can do more at UAFS, visit www.uafs.edu.


Article by Lindsey Thacker, Intern, Public Information Office
Date Posted: 
Friday, November 17, 2017
Source URL: 
Story ID: