Mosley Completes Leadership Program

Dr. Carolyn Mosley, dean of the College of Health Sciences at the University of Arkansas - Fort Smith, is a graduate of the Leadership Arkansas 2012 class.


Mosley, of Fort Smith, was one of a group of participants from throughout the state who completed the annual program. Leadership Arkansas offers a series of sessions held in locations across Arkansas which include discussion on issues critical to Arkansas, leadership skills assessment and relevant information on Arkansas’s history, demography, diversities and opportunities.


Mosley stated that the sessions that she most enjoyed were those that focused on education and its relationship to economic development.


“One cannot dispute the strong correlation that education has with social and economic development,” said Mosley. “It was clearly evident, through many robust discussions, that education can reduce poverty and social injustice if everyone, and I do mean everyone -- teachers, parents, legislators, industry and the total community -- is committed to adopting an innovative approach to address the inherent problems in the educational system.”


Mosley, who came to UAFS in 2006 and was named dean in 2007, was a recipient last year of the 2011 National Trio Achiever Award, given to recognize and honor former TRIO participants. TRIO is the label used to describe three programs -- Upward Bound, Educational Talent Search and Student Support Services. The award is given by the Council for Opportunity in Education.


Mosley is a Fellow in the American Academy of Nursing (FAAN) and the Academy of Nursing Education Fellow (ANEF). She has also been inducted into the Hall of Fame of the Louisiana State Nurses Association for demonstrated leadership affecting the health of Americans in the United States and for contributions to nursing that will be valued beyond her lifetime.


She also served as a Human Rights Expert to the International Council of Nursing, was recognized as one of the top 100 distinguished alumni of Texas Woman's University, is the recipient of the Rosalyn Carter Caregiving Recognition Award and the Robert Wood Johnson Executive Nurse Fellow Award, and is a University of Pennsylvania Research Fellow. Mosley has written more than 200 articles for a weekly health column in New Orleans, La., and has held numerous leadership positions.

Currently, Mosley serves as the immediate past president of the Board of Directors of the Good Samaritan Health Clinic and is chair of the Sparks Regional Medical Center Investigational Review Board. She is the president of the Board of Directors at St. James Missionary Baptist Church and is on the editorial board of the Nursing Education Perspectives, a professional refereed nursing journal.


Mosley also currently serves as vice chairman on the Sparks Health System Board of Trustees, is a member of the Fort Smith Regional Chamber of Commerce Health Committee and was appointed for a third term by Arkansas Gov. Mike Beebe as a commissioner to the Arkansas Minority Health Commission, where she was recently voted as secretary and chairs the Planning and Review Committee.


She was previously employed by the Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center School of Nursing in New Orleans, where she was associate dean of the school of nursing and health sciences. The center was temporarily moved to Baton Rouge following Hurricane Katrina and has now moved back to New Orleans.


Dr. Mosley has been a registered nurse for 38 years, with a specialty in psychiatric and mental health nursing. She has been a nurse educator for more than 30 years and served in progressive administrative positions. She has also been active in her community, serving as president of Chi Eta Phi Sorority, an organization of more than 8,000 nurses located throughout the United States and Liberia, West Africa. In that position, Dr. Mosley established a "Build Our Leaders" program, a three-tier program for leadership development at the local, regional and national level.


Dr. Mosley has also worked for the Medical Center of Louisiana, University Hospital, Tulane Medical Center Hospital, the Veterans Administration Medical Center and Pontchartrain Mental Health Center, all in New Orleans.


Date Posted: 
Tuesday, July 31, 2012
News Teaser: 
Dr. Carolyn Mosley, dean of the College of Health Sciences at the University of Arkansas - Fort Smith, is a graduate of the Leadership Arkansas 2012 class.